Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

Levante Wins Beneteau 31.7 One Design DBSC Saturday Race (Full Results Here!)

12th July 2020
Levante was the DBSC 31.7 DBSC winner Levante was the DBSC 31.7 DBSC winner Credit: Aflaot

Michael Leahy and John Power's Levante from the National Yacht Club was the winner of Saturday's DBSC Beneteau 31.7 One Design race on Dublin Bay.

Second were NYC clubmates Bluefin Two (Michael & Bernie Bryson) while third place went to Attitude from the Royal Irish YC/ Royal St George YC (T.Milner, J.Sugars D.Owens)

116 boats across 16 classes enjoyed a great afternoon's racing on a sunny Bay in a fine SE'ly sea breeze.

DBSC Results for 11/07/2020

Race 1

Cruiser 1 IRC: 1. White Mischief, 2. Gringo, 3. Jalapeno

Cruiser 1 Echo: 1. Gringo, 2. White Mischief, 3. Boomerang

Cruiser 1 J109: 1. White Mischief, 2. Jalapeno, 3. Something Else

31.7 One Design: 1. Levante, 2. Bluefin Two, 3. Attitude

31.7 Echo: 1. Bluefin Two, 2. Levante

Cruiser 2 IRC: 1. Rupert, 2. Leeuwin

Cruiser 2 Echo: 1. Antix, 2. Rupert, 3. Leeuwin

Cruiser 2 Sigma 33: 1. Rupert, 2. Leeuwin

Cruiser 3 IRC: 1. Maranda

Cruiser 3 Echo: 1. Saki, 2. Wynward, 3. Maranda

Cruiser 5 NS-IRC: 1. Act Two, 2. The Great Escape, 3. Persistance

Cruiser 5 Echo: 1=. Sweet Martini, 1=. Spirit, 3. Shearwater

SB20: 1., 2. Black, 3. LoFly

Sportsboat: 1. Jambiya

Flying 15: 1. Frequent Flyer, 2. ffinisterre, 3. Rodrigues

Ruffian: 1. Bandit, 2. Carmen, 3. Ripples

Shipman: 1. Invader, 2. Juniper, 3. Poppy

B211 One Design: 1. Chinook, 2. Yikes, 3. Ventuno

B211 Echo: 1. Ventuno, 2. Betty B, 3. Billy Whizz

Glen: 1. GlenDun

PY Class: 1. S Oram, 2. R Tate, 3. B Sweeney

Fireball: 1. F Miller, 2. O Sinnott, 3. C Power/M Barry

Laser Standard: 1. T Lyttle, 2. G Murphy, 3. F Walker

Laser Radial: 1. C Gorman, 2. R Geraghty-McDonnell, 3. S Craig

Laser 4.7: 1. L Turvey, 2. A O'Connor, 3. A Irvin

Race 2

SB20: 1., 2. LoFly, 3. Black

Sportsboat: 1. Jambiya, 2. Jeorge 5

Flying 15: 1. Fflagella, 2. Frequent Flyer, 3. FFuZZy

PY Class: 1. B Sweeney, 2. R Tate, 3. S Oram

Fireball: 1. P ter Horst, 2. F Miller, 3. C Power/M Barry

Laser Standard: 1. F Walker, 2. T Lyttle, 3. C Arrowsmith

Laser Radial: 1. R Geraghty-McDonnell, 2. C Gorman, 3. M Sorgassi

Laser 4.7: 1. F McDonnell, 2. L Turvey, 3. A O'Connor

Race Results

You may need to scroll vertically and horizontally within the box to view the full results

Published in DBSC, Beneteau 31.7 Team

About The Author Team

Email The Author is Ireland's dedicated marine journalism team.

Have you got a story for our reporters? Email us here.

We've got a favour to ask

More people are reading than ever thanks to the power of the internet but we're in stormy seas because advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. Unlike many news sites, we haven't put up a paywall because we want to keep our marine journalism open. is Ireland's only full-time marine journalism team and it takes time, money and hard work to produce our content.

So you can see why we need to ask for your help.

If everyone chipped in, we can enhance our coverage and our future would be more secure. You can help us through a small donation. Thank you.

Direct Donation to Afloat button

Dublin Bay Sailing Club (DBSC) is one of Europe's biggest yacht racing clubs. It has almost sixteen hundred elected members. It presents more than 100 perpetual trophies each season some dating back to 1884. It provides weekly racing for upwards of 360 yachts, ranging from ocean-going forty footers to small dinghies for juniors.

Undaunted by austerity and encircling gloom, Dublin Bay Sailing Club (DBSC), supported by an institutional memory of one hundred and twenty-nine years of racing and having survived two world wars, a civil war and not to mention the nineteen-thirties depression, it continues to present its racing programme year after year as a cherished Dublin sporting institution.

The DBSC formula that, over the years, has worked very well for Dun Laoghaire sailors. As ever DBSC start racing at the end of April and finish at the end of September. The current commodore is Eddie Totterdell of the National Yacht Club.

The character of racing remains broadly the same in recent times, with starts and finishes at Club's two committee boats, one of them DBSC's new flagship, the Freebird. The latter will also service dinghy racing on Tuesdays and Saturdays. Having more in the way of creature comfort than the John T. Biggs, it has enabled the dinghy sub-committee to attract a regular team to manage its races, very much as happened in the case of MacLir and more recently with the Spirit of the Irish. The expectation is that this will raise the quality of dinghy race management, which, operating as it did on a class quota system, had tended to suffer from a lack of continuity.