Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

Kidzink Continues to Lead SB20 World Championship After Eight Races Sailed

15th February 2024
Conditions have been described as 'volatile' at the SB20 World Championships in Dubai
Conditions have been described as 'volatile' at the SB20 World Championships in Dubai

Kidzink, the women’s team from the UAE, continues to maintain its lead in the overall standings at the SB20 World Championships in Dubai. The team, skippered by Charlotte Borghesi, has been in fine form, putting up a strong performance in the competition so far.

The Championship, which had suffered a one-day delay to the start, successfully completed four races today, effectively putting the world championships back on schedule for a full series of races. With only five races remaining, the competition is heating up as sailors vie for the top spots in the standings.

The forty-eight teams have had to deal with incredibly volatile conditions, with Race 5 seeing the course shortened on the second lap due to the wind dropping out altogether. Races 7 and 8 marked a shift as the wind began to stabilise. Consistency and focus among the sailors became crucial factors in climbing up the leaderboard, highlighted by Desert Eagle's move from 5th overall to second place.

The competition has been intense, and the sailors have had to be at their best to stay in the running. As the championship enters its final stages, all eyes will be on the teams as they battle it out for the top spots in the standings and the chance to be crowned the SB20 World Champions.

SB20 World Championships Overall Results after eight races :
1st Kidzink ,Charlotte Borghesi, 24pts
2nd Desert Eagle, Hendrik Witzmann, 35pts
3rd Rental Car, Michael Buchanan, 41pts
4th Jeunes FFVoile 1, Garreta Ian, 43pts
5th SuperBella,Edoardo Martinelli, 47pts

Full results below

Race Results

You may need to scroll vertically and horizontally within the box to view the full results

Published in SB20 Team

About The Author Team

Email The Author is Ireland's dedicated marine journalism team.

Have you got a story for our reporters? Email us here.

We've got a favour to ask

More people are reading than ever thanks to the power of the internet but we're in stormy seas because advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. Unlike many news sites, we haven't put up a paywall because we want to keep our marine journalism open. is Ireland's only full-time marine journalism team and it takes time, money and hard work to produce our content.

So you can see why we need to ask for your help.

If everyone chipped in, we can enhance our coverage and our future would be more secure. You can help us through a small donation. Thank you.

Direct Donation to Afloat button

SB20 (formerly Laser SB3) information

Designed by Tony Castro, the SB20 is a British-built strict one-design 6.15m keelboat conceived as a wide appeal, affordable, competitive sportsboat for teams of three or four sailors. It is also, arguably, the most successful sportsboat in the world with 800 owners competing regularly in a programme of exciting local, national and international events.

Originally known as the Laser SB3, the SB20 continues to deliver on its pioneering promise: a boat that is fun, fast and easy to sail by anyone of any age; the best value-for-money sportsboat in the market.

The Laser SB3 was designed by Castro and launched in 2002. In 2007 the Laser SB3 was awarded ISAF Recognised Status and the first World Championships were held in Ireland in 2008. In 2012, Tony Castro appointed a new builder, Sportsboat World. At this time, the Laser SB3 was renamed the SB20 and building was returned to the UK from Malaysia. The ethos of the class continues.

The boat is a strict one-design class, economic to buy and campaign, easy to sail with a simple deck layout and electric downwind performance delivered by the generous sail plan. The boat has a lifting keel, can easily be launched from a slipway and towed behind a family car.

Previous SB20 World Champions

2008 GBR: Geoff Carveth, Roger Gilbert, Roz Allen & Sarah Allan

Host National Yacht Club, Dun laoghaire, Ireland

2009 GBR: Craig Burlton, Stephen White, Adam Heeley

Host Clube Naval de Cascais, Cascais, Portugal

2010 GBR: Jerry Hill, Grant Rollerson, Joe Llewellyn

Host Circolo Vela Torbole, Lake Garda, Italy

2011 GBR: Geoff Carveth, Andy Ramus, Ian Mills & Emma Clarke

Host Royal Torbay Yacht Club, Torquay, UK

2012 GBR: Geoff Carveth, Lesley Dhonau, Roger Hudson & Asenathi Jim

Host Hamilton Island Yacht Club, Queensland, Australia

2013 GRB: Craig Burlton, Stephen White, Adam Heley Host COYCH Club, Hyeres, France